When Mama’s don’t feel good

I have not felt good for two weeks now.  Actually longer than that, but last week was not a good week for me and I got to spend two nights in the hospital.  No worries, I am much better and I am almost good as new.  You see I did not take the time to listen to my body and take care of myself.  As a wife and mama I tend to take care of everyone else first.  I think this is typical for most of us moms and even more true for us Farm Mom’s.

When I am feeling great, well then I am outside, or doing house work, or computer work, cooking, baking, running errands, helping to check cows, taking my daughter to Play Group once a week, coaching soccer, taking pictures, going to church or playing with the kids.  Not much down time or even me time.  When I am not feeling great, like last week, well then I spend a lot of time resting, sleeping and not much else.  Since I got to spend two nights at a B&M (Bed and Meds) establishment, well then I had time to think about how I ended up there and let me tell you, I do not want to do that again.

So I am going to strive to do better.  Do better at taking time for myself so that I can be the best wife and mama that I can be.  Because that is my job and I love it!

What do you do to make sure that you stay in top form as a mama?

Blessings to you,

Laurie – Country Link

2 comments on “When Mama’s don’t feel good

  1. Laurie,
    So glad to hear you are feeling better. Believe it or not I had missed you on Facebook. It is funny how I have developed some friends on there and I miss them when they get busy-or sick in your case. I know what you mean about running full throttle until we get ourselves in trouble health wise. I am finally learning that I can’t volunteer for every opportunity and I am stepping back from more responsibilities, so my family doesn’t suffer.
    Take care of yourself and continue to rest. This is certainly a post that all moms whether they farm or not should listen to with both ears wide open.
    I hope you have a great week ahead of you!!!

    • Thank you Kansas Farm Mom! I am doing so much better and am almost 100% again. The worst part about all of this is what I missed while I was sick. Now for getting better and staying that way! Hope you have a great week too! Don’t forget, let me know when bean harvest starts.

Leave a Reply

