where faith, family and food meet

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite times of the year.  It is a time for our families (either side) to spend time together catching up and eating great food.  We talk, laugh and eat all day long.  Chores are done, but work it usually put aside for the day so that we can just be together.  Football is watched too, but that is for the brothers-in-law.

A ham, a brisket and a turkey were all on the menu this year.  As well as sweet potatoes,  hot rolls,  green bean casserole, corn casserole, jello salad and many more delicious dishes.   When you are feeding 21 individuals, then the menu is large.  We also had pumpkin and pecan pie.  You can’t go wrong with Pie!

Here we all are and I mean all of us.  This is my side of the family and we were all here this year.  Gpa and Gma are there in the middle, grand kids/cousins are in the front and sides and us daughters and husbands are in the back.  A camera with a timer is a wonderful thing!

Because we are such a food loving family, here is one of the recipes that I made for Thanksgiving this year.  It is one of my favorites to eat and is supper easy to make.  This recipe was given to me by a very good friend from western Kansas.  Every time I make it I think of her and how much she means to me.  Thanks Ms. Genelle!

Corn Casserole

1 can whole kernel corn, drained

1 can creamed corn

1 pkg. Jiffy cornbread mix

1 egg

1 small carton sour cream

1 stick of butter

2 Tbs. of sugar

Melt the butter and then add all of the ingredients to it in a large bowl.  Pour into a greased casserole dish and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

That is it!  Super easy and very delicious!

I would love to hear about your Thanksgiving traditions.  Please share some with me by leaving a comment below.

Blessings to you,

Laurie – Country Link

 

One comment on “where faith, family and food meet

  1. […] for me.  It has many great days like; Veteran’s Day, Gpa’s Birthday, my Birthday, Thanksgiving and sign-up for Christmas in the Country.  That’s right!!!  Christmas in the Country is […]

Leave a Reply

