Baked with Love

Do you ever have a great idea?  Yesterday I had a really good one, or so I thought.  I decided that the banana’s sitting in the bowl were ripe enough to make a couple loaf’s of banana bread.  As I began this process, I also thought, why not take some pictures and make a blog post about baking for loved ones.  After all Valentine’s Day is around the corner, and this is a really good recipe, so I got my camera out and got started.

painting

Kendall was staying home to insure that she was over the stomach bug that we all had last week, so I had two helpers.  Well, I had two at the island with me while I mixed up the bread.  They decided it would be more fun to paint pictures and let mom do all of the work.

smile

LOVE their smiles!

Ended up making three mini and two big loaf’s of banana bread.  Plan to share with Gpa and Gma and plan on taking some to the school to share with the kids teachers.  What better way to show someone who you love or appreciate what they do then with a little homemade goodness.  (This is as close to a mushy Valentine’s Day post as I am going to get.  If you were hoping for something more, sorry.  Not happening!)

As I sat down last night to go through the pictures, I discovered that I was not happy with any of them, expect one.  Goes to show you that great ideas, no matter how great, don’t always work out the way you want them too.  Oh well, I can still share the recipe.  It has a secret ingredient!  Shhhhh, don’t tell!

Banana Bread

BANANA BREAD

1/2 c. butter (melted)

1 c. sugar

1 c. mashed ripe banana’s (two should be enough)

1/4 c. orange juice (yup, this is the secret)

1 tsp. vanilla

2 c. flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

2 large eggs

*1/4 c. of pecans if you would like to make banana nut bread.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine the first five ingredients in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl combine the next four dry ingredients.  Combine the two.  After it is mixed well, add the two eggs.  Mix again, but do not over mix.  If you would like to add pecans, do so now.  Pour into greased muffin pan, mini loaf pans or a large loaf pan(s).  Baking time will vary depending on the pan that you use.  Muffins take 12-18 minutes, loaf pans take from 34-50 minutes.  Remove from the oven when the bread is set and a nice golden brown.  Enjoy!

Blessings to you and your loved ones this week,

Laurie – Country Link

5 comments on “Baked with Love

  1. Erin Mullins says:

    You must have read my mind! We have some bananas that are getting to the perfect stage for banana bread and I was going to look a recipe up today but I think I will try yours!! How many loaves does this individual recipe make. 1 or 2? I look forward to trying them 🙂

    Erin
    http://diariesfromthedirtroad.blogspot.com

    • Great minds think a like Erin! I tend to do two loaf’s or four mini, just depends on how “large” I want them to be. This bead stays nice and moist when it is kept covered. Does not get that dry taste at all. Best of luck and let me know how you like them!

  2. mmmmmmm banana bread 😉

Leave a Reply

