Country Kids in the Kitchen

Cookbook

I received this wonderful cookbook in the mail from my dear friend Kathy at Hasekamps of Tulip.  Looking though it I found her recipe for Mini Cinnamon Rolls.  It utilized Crescent rolls, my favorite, and cinnamon and sugar, another of my favorites.  Using the same ingredients,  I just simplified it.  The kids were able to do all of this themselves!  Only thing I did was turn the oven on.

Crescent Cinnamon Rolls

  • 1 Tube of Crescent Rolls
  • Butter
  • Cinnamon
  • Sugar

Unroll a tube of Crescent rolls and divide into triangles.  Butter each one.  Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar to taste.

Country Kids in the Kitchen

Roll into a  crescent roll.  Place on a baking sheet and put in a 375 degree oven for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown.

Country Kids in the Kitchen 2

We also made a glaze of powdered sugar and milk to drizzle on the top when they came out of the oven.

Cinnamon Crescent rolls

This got me thinking about other variations.  Kathy suggested using brown sugar instead of cinnamon/sugar or raisins.  I also thought of adding chopped pecans and maybe even thin slices of apple.

This is a kid and dad approved recipe!  Oh so simple, but oh so good!

My friend Julie from In Between the Sunsets of Life also wrote a blog post about one of the recipes from this cookbook.  She chose a recipe for a wonderful Hot Chicken Salad.

This is quickly becoming my new favorite cookbook!  Do you have a favorite cookbook that you like to use?

Blessings to you,

Laurie – Country Link

6 comments on “Country Kids in the Kitchen

  1. ❤ your face sista! Love this post! We have made them this way as well………….. I love any recipe that my kids can make and like, then they are willing to 'whip up a batch' when we need to take something somewhere. You should see my Tulip Cookbook, its very tattered and worn, but its because of use. I am so proud of that thing, its so full of 'stuff you have in the cabinet' types of recipes! Thanks for sharing the love my friend!

  2. Julie Vogts says:

    Looks yummy!

  3. Kim's County Line says:

    Seeing your kids cooking together brings back fond memories of when my kids were little. My daughter is now a dietitian and credits 4-H foods and nutrition with her career choice. I came over to check you out from the Country Fair link-up.

    • Thanks for coming by Kim! I was in the process of doing the same thing over at your blog. Loved your mug shot post. Made me smile, so thank you! The kids love being in the kitchen. That is where we seem to spend most of our time. I have a feeling that foods will be a future 4-H project for my girls.

Leave a Reply

