Farm Picture Friday #29

FPF #29

Times to remember………………

Years from now when she looks back at this picture I hope she remembers feeding the bottle calf “Sally”.

I hope she remembers she learned the importance of taking care of something else and that “Sally” needed her.

I hope she remembers the way the calves hair felt and the slobbers that she would get on her coat.

I hope she remembers the sense of pride she felt, that at only four years old, she was able to feed a bottle calf by herself and that she was brave and not afraid.

I hope she remembers not only this time of her life on the farm, but all of the wonderful and rewarding things she did and that they made her the person she became.

For my hope is that she will look back at these remembered times and smile.  The smile that says, “What a blessing it was to grow up on a farm”.

Blessings to you,

Laurie – Country Link

14 comments on “Farm Picture Friday #29

  1. Deb says:

    It is a true blessing to grow up on a farm. I wish every child could experience it. Good work ethics learned at a young age that stay with them forever. What a wonderful world it would be!

    • It would be wonderful! I am thankful everyday that I was born and raised on a farm and feel so blessed that my children get to be too. Thanks for stopping by Aunt Deb! Always love seeing your comments.

  2. This is a lovely little post. I’m in the process of saving for a house/land at the end of the year to begin my own farm. A big reason for this is my future kids.. I want them to grow up with these lessons from the land. So beautiful.. thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you! I always look forward to comments from new readers and I thank you. Best of luck in your savings! I know it can feel out of reach sometimes, but a dream like that is worth all of the wait and worry.

  3. Robyn says:

    I hope she remembers too! I think those that grow up in agriculture do remember. If they don’t return to the farm or ranch their kids visit Grandparents. It’s fun for them, but not the same as living ag everyday.

    The B&W edit is awesome. You will have to bring this out for your daughter’s Graduation.

    • My nieces and nephews do visit quite a bit and when they do they want to be outside doing something on the farm. They have a better understanding where their roots are and where food comes from better than many of their friends.

      Thanks! I was going to leave it in color, but started wondering how it would look in B&W and so happy I chose to go that way. Speaks volumes. 🙂

  4. Love it – and I’m sure she’ll treasure this picture when she’s older 🙂

    • Thanks! I think she will too. Tonight while feeding she let sister feed Sally for a few seconds so that sister could get her picture taken and then it was back to her in charge of the bottle. 🙂

  5. And because of these experiences, she will set herself apart from her peers because of her work ethic, her love of the land and her love for her family. And…I hope that her mama remembers that when this 4 year old is much older, it will be because of the values that were instilled into her and her siblings that she will become someone sought after in leadership roles. I hope her mama remembers the wonderful opportunities she provided for her children and know one day she did her very best for her children, recall these memories and smile. 😊

    • Thank you so much for your words Tracy. They mean so much to me. I have been a mama now for over 10 years and each day I learn and see something new about my children. Seeing them take responsibility at a young age and enjoying being outside and a part of the farm makes my heart full. They mean everything to me.

  6. Emily Grace says:

    That was just right, Laurie. I enjoyed a few of my own memories while reading. Thanks. 🙂

  7. Laurie, one of the first papers Jesse wrote for his College Comp class was about his first bottle calf and the lessons he learned from the experience. Trust me that the lessons you’re teaching her with this calf WILL last a lifetime!

    • That is wonderful! What a great thing to write about. She is already so strong and independent. I can’t wait to see what all she does and accomplishes. Good to hear from you MB!

Leave a Reply

