Farm Picture Friday #41

FPF #41Strength and honor are her clothing and she shall rejoice in time to come.  She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness.  She looketh well to the ways of her household, and eateth not the bread of idleness. Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her. – Proverbs 31:25-28 (KJV)

This Farm Picture Friday is a new one for me because………………………………… I am in it!  (Did you recognize me?  I am the one not wearing a hat.)

 I looked back through all of the other 40 FPF and I am not in a single one.  I have used pictures that the kids have taken before, (this one was taken by Wyatt, our oldest), but all the rest were taken by me, so I was behind the camera.

Now, you may wonder why I chose this picture with all of the others that were taken this week, especially since corn planting started for us on Monday and I have many pictures from the field.  I chose this picture for two reasons.  The first being that I, like most mom’s, have very few pictures of myself with any of my children.  Mom’s are always taking the pictures trying to capture the special moments for our children and we forget to hand the camera to someone else (Dad) and let them take a few.   Second, I feel that this picture captured the feeling and spirit of what it means to me to be a farm mom.  IT MEANS EVERYTHING.

Being a farm mom means to me that every day I get to spend time with my family on the land.  We get to interact with all that God created and watch it grow and change.  I have the chance to teach my children hard work, dedication, compassion, and love.  I myself get the satisfaction of hard work, achy muscles and dirty finger nails.  Being a farm mom means fun trips and adventures to and in the fields and pastures.  It means safety first and doing the work when the work needs done.  Last, but not least, being a farm mom means that I get to show my children how much I love what I do and how I love that I was given the opportunity to be their mom.

As you look at this picture I hope you see the spirit of all moms, not just farm moms, and the love they have for their children, biological or not.  For Sunday may be Mother’s Day, but to a mom, every day is celebrated when we get to have and hold a child.

Blessings to you and all Mother’s,

Laurie – County Link

19 comments on “Farm Picture Friday #41

  1. Happy Mother’s Day Laurie! And how true, Moms rarely have photos of themselves because they’re always taking the photo. Tell Wyatt he did a nice job taking the photo.

  2. Robyn says:

    I love the passion you share for family and farming. It’s a blessing to be able to raise your family on the farm and be able to show/teach them what you value.

    I hope you have a fabulous Mother’s Day Laurie.

    • Thank you Robyn! We all have something that we are passionate about and I love sharing that with others. Not a day goes by that I am not thankful for this life. Have a good day my friend!

  3. Emily Grace says:

    Be-you-ti-ful! Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. Emily Grace says:

    Reblogged this on Beef and Sweet Tea and commented:
    Happy Mother’s Day to mamas of anything!

    I want to share this post from my farm wife/mom friend Laurie over at CountryLINKed. Her entire Farm Picture Friday series is a favorite weekly treat for me, and this week’s Mother’s Day emphasis is just right – so I’ll let her farm perspective give you a Mother’s Day specific greeting from farming America.

    Best,
    Emily Grace

  5. Reblogged this on All But Good Articles and commented:
    Very beautiful!

  6. This picture just warms my heart (and makes me miss my little girls)! You are truly blessed with the very best job in the world…Mom! Happy Mother’s Day, friend!

  7. Wonderful picture! Happy Mother’s Day Laurie!
    -Lori

  8. What a beautiful picture and message about being a farm mom 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

    “I myself get the satisfaction of hard work, achy muscles and dirty finger nails.” — I can relate to this so much 🙂 Three cheers for a day of hard work.

  9. J. Rhoades says:

    You are beautiful and your daughter will really treasure this picture someday! I hate being in the picture most of the time but keep telling myself I will have to remember to be in it with kids someday! Hope you had a good Mother’s Day!

    • Thank you Jamie! It turned out to be a nice quite day, just the way I like it.

      When you have little ones, be sure and take lots of pictures with them. You will cherish the memories and when they are older, they will cherish the picture. Love that cameras come with built in timers now. Makes it a little easier to sneak into a picture or two. 🙂

  10. JolynYoung says:

    Great blog! The rare pictures we moms have with our kids are treasures, indeed. I have like three! 🙂

Leave a Reply

