Farm Picture Friday #45

FPF#45

Being a farm mom I relish the times that my children are with me.  Depending on what I am doing or where I am at, they are not always with me on or off the farm. Take Wednesday for instance.  That morning three of us left the house to go to swimming lessons.  Kendall, the middle child, had already left to go to a 4-H Clover Kid camp and we would be picking her up later.

Two with me, one not.

After arriving home with all three kids, a babysitter came to watch them so that I could go to the hay field to help.

None with me.

After getting the hay done, I went to the house and got Wyatt, the oldest, so that he could help plant beans.  I went to the field too with the extra beans in case they were needed.

One with me, two not.

After the beans were planted it was back to the hay field to pick up small square bales of alfalfa.  Wyatt was needed to help drive so that I could help pick up bales.

One with me, two not.

After all the work was done, it was time to head back home and fix supper.

Three with me. 

I relish the time together with my children.  The learning and growing that they do.  The sense of accomplishment that I see on their faces.  The love for each other and the land that we are raising them on.  Yes, I even love the dirty knees and the ripped out jeans.

Blessings to you and any child who has ripped the knees of their jeans,

Laurie – Country Link

4 comments on “Farm Picture Friday #45

  1. Robyn says:

    Laurie,
    This post reminds me of my Mom an Dad. Sister and I spent a lot of time “helping” (when we were little) and working when we were a little bigger.

    I love the status of how many kiddos were with you and how many not. I know there were times when Mom would have said: Zero with me, yeah!

    Good Luck with haying season and getting the beans planted. We got 2.10″ rain Tuesday night/Wednesday morning and another .25″ yesterday afternoon. It will be a while before we can hay.

    • I still remember running along the bales on the hay wagon as a little girl while the guys were picking them up. Back then the little bales were actually round and we were to go along and push them down. My first job on the farm.

      Not very often that I have “none” with me Robyn. 🙂 We are wet here too. The beans are all done, now we just need a break in the rains to get the rest of the hay done.

  2. And before you know it, 30 years have come and gone and you wonder how that happened! I love how much you enjoy having your kids with you every step of the way!

Leave a Reply

