Video of a Baby Calf being Born – September 2014

There are miracles happening around us every day.  Some times we get to take a moment to sit and watch them happen.  Yesterday I was able to witness such a miracle, the miracle of birth.

Cow 29T is acting like she is ready to give birth, or better known as "calve". Mama Cow 29T was in a shady spot behind the house acting “calve”.  I was checking cows and noticed her right away.  Her tail was in the air, she was restless and she was urinating frequently.   She was in the spot I remember her calving at last year and like last year the rest of the herd were in the same area.  This is  unusual for beef cattle.  They tend to go to their own spot in the pasture to have their babies.

 

Cow 29T lays down to begin th process of having her calf. eThe longer I watched I began to see the signs that yes indeed she was VERY close to having her baby, so I parked the John Deere Gartor close by and made myself comfortable.  I snapped pictures and then changed the mode on my Canon Rebel T2i to video.  Here is what I captured.

 

The other mama cows in the picture were starting to move and I was worried they might step on the new calf, so I stopped recording so that I would move them away.

After baby is born cow 29T licks it dry/clean.  She began to lick him off as soon as she could stand up and get to him.  Amazing that they know exactly what to do!  Amazing that their bodies do exactly what is needs to do.  Amazing the miracle of life!

 

106-001This is the picture that I shared on the Country LINKed FaceBook page yesterday asking if anyone wanted to see video and you all did!  More to come on how this little guy and his mama are doing.  For now enjoy watching a baby calf being born!

Blessings to you,

Laurie – Country Link

13 comments on “Video of a Baby Calf being Born – September 2014

  1. Emily Grace says:

    Good job, Laurie! Courage noted! I have not the confidence to post calving footage yet!

    Isn’t it strange when they have their calf around the herd. I guess some just don’t mind an audience. 🙂

    Great photos and video!
    eg

    • I was hoping for a little better angle, but did not want to cause her any worry, so I stayed where I was at and think it came out pretty good. You can see everything, without seeing everything. (If that makes since?) It is very strange she had it in the group and that it was the same place she had one last year. Wonder if others due the same? (not a miss spelling there for due.)

  2. J. Rhoades says:

    Amazing! Ours are all loner cows that go off on their own, but really stick together otherwise, so it makes it easy to see when someone is going to be calving. Speaking of which ours need to start up any day now, but my stern talks I give them don’t seem to be doing any good! 🙂

    • This is the only red mama in this group and she tends to be a loner, until she has a calf and then she wants to be in the middle of everyone else. Keep talking to your ladies! They will eventually hear what you are saying! 😉

  3. You’re SO LUCKY! I want to see something being born some day! What an awesome “office” you have!

  4. Robyn says:

    I always have to stop and watch the miracle of calf birth too. There is something very humbling about it.

    Yeah for you, Laurie!

  5. Oh how very sweet…she seems to be a pretty good mama and what a sweet baby.

  6. Armenda Boyer says:

    Thanks for sharing this story! I love that you shared some great information, and supplemented the story with pictures and video! Looking forward to reading more of your blog posts!

Leave a Reply

