Country DIY Canvas Project

Country DIY Canvas Project

We have a blank wall in our bedroom.  This wall has been bare for five years.  FIVE YEARS!  It is my fault, really it is.  I could not decide what I wanted to put on it.  I knew that as soon as I did decide there would be no going back.  So I waited…………………………………………………………………..and today the wait ended!  YEA!

With a bit of time and very little money, I made my own pictures on canvas.  I first got the idea from Pinterest and have done this before.  My first project I used 8×10 pictures and canvas.  I also used an old window to then frame the canvas pictures that I made.  Very cute and easy!

This project was basically the same, expect I did not have a window big enough for the blank wall I have been looking at for five years.  After combing through all of the pictures I have taken the past couple years, and that was a LOT of pictures, I settled on eight that I wanted to use.  From there the rest is easy.

Country Linked Canvas DIYSupplies needed:

  • 11×14 in. Stretched Canvas
  • Mod Podge
  • Brown Acrylic paint (your choice of color)
  • Foam brushes (a 1 and a 4 in brush)
  • Ruler
  • Cutter or scissors
  • 8 11×14 pictures (these were my favorites and ones I knew I would love seeing every day)

633

635

Step one:  After gathering all of my supplies, I found a large flat clean surface to work on. First I painted the edges of the canvas.  I chose brown because all of my pictures are sepia color.  I made sure that I came over the edge and on to the front of the canvas.  This is just in case the photograph is smaller than your canvas.

637

Step two:  While the paint was drying I got the picture I wanted to use and cut it to fit the canvas.  All of my 11×14 photos were just a bit bigger than the canvas.

639

Step three:  Apply Mod Podge to the front of your painted canvas.  This acts also as a glue and will adhere your photo to the canvas.  Place your picture and press down. This is where painting over the edge helps.  If you were just a little off on your cutting, it will not be seen because of the paint.  Once you have the picture in place, apply the Mod Podge all across the front and sides of the canvas.  Don’t be worried that it has a milky look.  Once it dries it will be clear.  I used a 4 in. foam brush to apply the Mod Podge and I applied two coats to each canvas.  Be sure that the first coat is dry before you apply the second.

641

Step four:  Once everything is dry, decide on an eye appealing arrangement.  I laid the pictures down on the living room floor to make my arrangement.  It took a bit to get the pictures in the right order.

Country Link DIY the finished look.  www.countrylinked.wordpress.com

Step five:  Hang and Enjoy!  There are many ways to hang your canvas.  I chose to use metal hangers on the back of mine and then place them on the wall with a nail.  If I had the chance to run to town, I probably would have used the 3M command strip products.  I use those for many things.

What do you think?  Fun, right!  Easy, right!  Since I did have eight to do, this project did take most of an afternoon to do, but the results were so worth the time!  (All of the photos used for this DIY project were taken by me.) 

Have fun making your own canvas!

Blessings to you,

Laurie – Country Link

*Check out the link that inspired this project, it is fantastic! http://www.literallyinspired.com/2012/02/picture-perfect.html

*By typing in “Make your own canvas picture” in Pinterest, several links were found.

This post was linked up to the following blog parties:

17 comments on “Country DIY Canvas Project

  1. Deb says:

    That looks INCREDIBLE! Love, Love, Love!!!!!!!!

  2. isabella says:

    This is a great idea! 🙂
    XOXO,
    Isabella

  3. This looks awesome!!!!!

  4. Great job, Laurie! Love the results.

  5. turned out gorgeous! guess what? I’m going to give this a try!!

  6. J. Rhoades says:

    beautiful! I want to try this, but every time I’ve tried to use mod podge the paper gets wrinkly 😦 not sure what I’m doing wrong!

  7. Taysha R says:

    This is awesome!!

  8. Your picture art came out so good! The process sounds fairly easy, so I’m definitely going to have to give this a try!

Leave a Reply

