Hauling Hay

county fair ribbon

Here we were again, in the hay-field picking up small square bales of alfalfa.  (Ok, they are really long rectangles, but for years history has called them square bales, so that is what we call them.)  This time however the temperature was not in the high 90’s and there was a slight breeze, thus making it a nice evening to be in the hay-field.  And we all were in the hay-field.  Me, Husband, Kids, Gpa, Hired-hand, and Team Hall.  Team Hall, my sister, her husband and son, were here to help on a big project that has only taken 25 years to materialize and did not plan on going to the hay-field, but Gpa had other plans.  When Gpa says go to the hay-field, you go.  With all of the extra help, I was relieved of my usual duties as driver and got to instead take pictures.  I have been wanting to take lots of pictures in the hay-field but can not do to the fact that the driver has a very important job, driving.

Let me break it down for you how we haul hay on our farm.  First off you have the truck and long flat-bed trailer.  The driver, usually me, is to drive slowly and consistently along the hay bales so that the picker upper’s can pick up the bales and put them on the trailer.  You go slow so that you do not wear out the guys on the ground doing the picking up and so that you do not throw the stacker, usually my husband, off the trailer as he stacks the hay.  Pretty easy, right?  Yes and no.  When you have a nice evening like we had on Saturday it goes pretty good.  When you have 100 plus degrees and no breeze and not enough help, well then things go a little slower.

This night there was only 145 bales, so we could get them all in one load.  A few bales were not tight enough and too long, so they were re-baled, but other than that a good night in the field with family.

My brother-in-law and I took a little break while they rebaled the loose bales and made fun of my sister.  I know it is not nice, but we love her and she knows that if we did not give her a hard time, then there would be something wrong.  And two, she could not hear what we were saying.  So I snapped pictures of her doing manual labor, which she tries really hard not to do, and we talked about her.  Have I mentioned that I do love my sister?  And that I am very proud of her because in less than two weeks she will be walking 60 miles for breast cancer?  More of that to come, but this is her third Susan G. Komen Walk for a Cure.  Hay, if you can haul hay, you can walk 60 miles, right.

Here are a few more pictures from the hay-field, because again, I don’t usually have the opportunity to just take pictures.  I was also watching the kids and making sure that they did not get in the way, or ran over.  My sister was a little rusty at the driving in the hay-field bit and she also had help from a three-year old.

Don’t worry I will tell you about the project that has taken 25 years to materialize and I will also share with you our day at the Missouri State Fair.  Have lots of pictures to go through first.

Blessings to You,

Laurie – Country Link

This blog was linked up to the Country Fair Blog Party

country fair blog party button

9 comments on “Hauling Hay

  1. […] few posts back, (Hauling Hay) I mentioned that my sister, Carrie, was about to embark on a journey 60 miles long.  Well today […]

  2. […] brother-in-law put in a hard days work to get that all done and then went to the hay-field for Hauling Hay.  The things we do for […]

  3. […] a hand or a strong back.  Even when it is hot and humid in the middle of July and Gpa wants to pick up hay, we will be there to help.  (Family is allowed to grumble on days like […]

  4. akansasfarmmom says:

    Thank you so much for linking up to the Country Fair Blog Party and sharing a little about your farm family with all of us!

  5. I love your pictures. I just stumbled across your blog from the country fair link up. Looking forward to reading more.
    http://www.crystalcattle.com

  6. […] the beans were planted it was back to the hay field to pick up small square bales of alfalfa.  Wyatt was needed to help drive so that I could help pick up […]

Leave a comment